MassDems Chair McGee to Step Down

Massachusetts Democratic Part Chair Tom McGee sent the following email to MassDems State Committee Members tonight announcing that he will not stand for reelection in November:

 

Dear friend,

This November voters across our nation will face a choice unlike any that I can remember. It is a choice between fundamental ideals – between hope and fear and between bringing people together or driving them apart. We stand at this intersection and we cannot afford to fail. I know that our work for the next eight weeks is going to shape what our country looks like for a generation. I am committed and I ask you to join me, to work hard, to volunteer and to help elect Hillary Clinton as the next President of the United States and ensure Democratic victories down the ballot.

Many of you knew my father in his capacity as Speaker of the Massachusetts House, State Representative, and DNC member. He always said he could sleep well at night knowing he helped just one person that day – over the past three years, I know our work electing Democrats has helped countless people across the state. I’ve often talked about my grandmother and the values I learned from her. After helping organize shoe workers in Lynn and during the darkest days of the Depression she went to work for the Roosevelt administration to continue fighting for working families. The values we share as Democrats are the values my family instilled in me.

The Democratic Party is part of who I am. I have been a proud member of our party my entire life and was first elected to the State Committee over 40 years ago. For the past three years I have been honored to serve as Chair of the Massachusetts Democratic Party.

I have decided not to seek reelection to the position of Chair of the Massachusetts Democratic Party. I am sharing this decision with you proud of what we have accomplished together in my tenure and determined to continue that success in the upcoming election and beyond.

Three years ago, I ran for chair to help our Party transition into a new era. In that time we have seen great success.

We have…

Criss-crossed the Commonwealth on a regional listening tour to chart the direction of our Party
Launched the nationally-recognized 1965 Project, the first State Party in the country to organize around the 50th anniversary of the 1965 Voter Rights Act
Brought to a new level the relationship between our State Committee and our elected Democratic State Senators and State Representatives
Run the two most successful Roosevelt Dinners in the Party’s history
Exposed organizations like the Mass Fiscal Alliance for the Republican front groups that they are
Integrated new technologies in launching a new website, creating a presence on Instagram, starting a weekly Talking Points email, introducing electronic balloting at our state convention and bringing in new resources through a low dollar recurring donation program
Strengthened the State Committee’s relationship with organized labor
Won special elections across our state – from Congress to State Representative, from Brockton to Peabody to Fitchburg to Westfield – including taking back Republican seats

This year I saw my 18-year-old twins off to college. Maria and I have watched as the children we raised grew into incredible young adults. I am proud of them and I am excited as they enter this next phase of their lives. I am also excited to see what the next phase of my life holds.

As Democrats our work lies ahead of us to secure a better tomorrow for all our families – just like our parents and grandparents did for us. I am excited by what we have accomplished together and for what we will accomplish in the future.

Like many of you, I have dedicated my life to public service. I have focused on what I can do to make life better for the residents of the Commonwealth. From debating Senate Republicans on Beacon Hill to having conversations with local Democrats at town committee meetings across the state, I have focused on creating and expanding opportunities for everyone to have the quality of life we all deserve. For the next eight weeks I look forward to seeing you on the campaign trail as we elect Hillary Clinton to White House and Democrats to the State House.

Sincerely,
Tom McGee
Chairman
Massachusetts Democratic Party

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

